‘Thatchers Then and Now

Claudia at copmuter

Dear Reader,

I’ve been wandering around Thatchers Orchards for over 15 years now – and, over that time, I have built up a large library of images, documenting the working life of a cider farm through the different seasons.

While much of my work at Thatchers has been commissioned photography, for general marketing and PR uses, at particular times of year – when the light has been good, the blossom extra white and apples extra shiny and red – I would pick up my camera and travel down to Sandford or Criston, at the break of dawn or during a snowstorm, to film and photograph this glorious landscape.

I would do this for pleasure, and perhaps to fulfil that itching need all photographers  feel when the light is either good or dramatic: that I should be out there taking pictures.

Of course it got to the point where I wondered how many of the photographs I took would ever see the light of day. So I was delighted when Martin Thatcher asked me to search through my archive of images, to illustrate a book the Thatchers wanted to produce – ‘Thatchers Then and Now’, the story of a cider making family.

So over the past year, I’ve been working with Bristol Books producing a book on the family history of Thatchers Cider. It’s been a fascinating process working with writer James Russell, matching the correct images with words and making sure the book has a natural flow, a contemporary look and an enduring feel.

What I have decided to do on this blog is to publish some of the photographs from the book, with extracts from the text, to put the images in their correct context.

I hope you enjoy my posts during the next few months – and, if you like the images and stories behind them, you never know, you might even want to buy the book…

One response to “‘Thatchers Then and Now

Leave a Reply

