Apple Juice and Cider update

I spent part of Christmas eve dropping off bottles of apple juice to people who let me pick from their gardens. This included the vicar of Warmley (pictured below) who donated a good selection of apples from the Vicarage’s Orchard.

Christmas eve donation of Apple Juice to the Vicar of Warmley

Christmas eve donation of Apple Juice to the Vicar of Warmley

As it’s new years eve I wanted to impress some of my friends with a sample of this years cider, so this morning I went down to Willsbridge Mill so see how it’s progressing.

Well it’s a bit of a mixed bag, 2 tubs are still fermenting (that’s good) 4 seem to have finished fermenting but are tasting pretty sharp and need more a little more time to mature (actually a lot more time if I’m being honest !). One tub hasn’t started fermenting (not good) or has possible got stuck so i’ve added a bottle of warm apple juice to hopefully get it started.The last tub tastes rather acetic (the problem I had with my cider last year) so that will probably end up being poured into Siston Brook.

Anyway, the upshot is that I’m not taking any cider to the party, apart from a bottle of Orchard Pig which I was given as a xmas present. That should do the trick !

Happy new year,

Neil
The Scrumping Project.

Leave a Reply

